top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay FloReda

Interning at WE Communications


Role: Client Servicing & Digital Intern (Team DXT)


I have to admit. Despite having done a handful of creative stints over the past 5 years, I really am not the most confident and grounded in my own craft as I would’ve liked to be after having been through many of such experiences.


To say that my 3.5 month stint at WE as a Client Servicing and Digital Intern was a fruitful one is definitely an understatement. After having been exposed to a wide variety of projects, spearheading several small ones that were both backend and client-facing in nature, I left this internship with so much confidence after seeing myself perform and surpassed my own expectations - as a person and a working professional.


I’ve not only had a taste of what it’s like working in an agency and the different types of tasks I could possibly get the chance to work on, I’ve also learned so much about myself. I’ve gained a much better understanding of where my strengths and weaknesses lie, what motivates me to produce better quality work, what my expectations of myself are as an intern and what I expect out of my working relationships with my peers at work.


More importantly, I’ve crafted a clearer definition of what a ‘safe space to learn and grow’ truly looks like in my books. I’ve come to understand my own needs as a working individual and found my own ways to fulfil them.


It was here where I really had the chance to sit down and organise my thoughts and get my work done productively. I’ve learned to find value in the work I do and mistakes I make.

It has been slightly over a month since I ended my internship here at WE Communications. The entire 3.5 months have been nothing short of fruitful and amazing. I’m truly grateful for all the opportunities and projects presented to me, from building slide-decks of content ideas and social trend jacking possibilities for different clients to the tasks that lean towards the more administrative side of social media such as building a community management sheet entailing all response records on clients’ social media channels.


I used to think that I had a disdain for administrative work. However, I found myself loving every minute of such tasks, I wanted to bring forth the best quality of work that I could ever produce simply because I loved the community I was a part of, and felt really safe around my managers and co-workers. That being said, I didn’t have to worry about voicing out my concerns, worries or questions because I knew I had a team so willing to provide me with the guidance and support I’d need. I was finally starting to heal from the self-deprecating habits of comparison.


After everything I’ve come to learn and all the people I have crossed paths with, WE will definitely take up a special place in my heart. I’m really proud of myself for the challenges I’ve overcome in the past, and the person I’ve grown into today thanks to the experiences I’ve gained here.


Thank you WE, for shaping me into who I’ve become. I’m excited for what’s about to come my way.


WE are WE, WE are your agency.

💚🧡



bottom of page